Do I Have to Get a License to Become a Georgia Private Investigator?
Legal requirements to become a private investigator vary from state to state. Georgia is among the states that require private investigators to become licensed, which is a multi-step process.
Our team at the National Investigative Training Academy, Inc. (NITA) is here to help you achieve your investigative goals. Below we have included steps required to pursue licensure as a Private Investigator in Georgia:
All private detectives working in Georgia need to be registered as an employee of a private detective business, be it as a sole proprietor, as the manager of your own company, or with another agency. It is therefore your employer (or yourself if you are the owner of the business) who registers you with the Secretary of State’s Board of Private Detective and Security Agencies.
In order to become registered you will need to meet some basic private investigator minimum requirements:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Have integrity and a good moral character
- Be a U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident entitled to work in the U.S.
- No convictions for felonies, crimes involving weapons, or crimes of moral turpitude; however considerations will be made on a case-by-case basis
- Have not committed any acts of fraud or dishonesty
2) Georgia Basic Training
To work as a private detective in Georgia you will need to complete a basic training course. You have the option of completing this within six months of being hired, and the course must be from a state-approved provider that provides 70 hours of classroom instruction, including the following topics:
- Industry history
- Criminal law
- Search and seizure
- Crime scene investigation
- Witness and suspect interviewing
If you choose to carry a firearm you will additionally have to take the Firearm Training Curriculum for Handguns course. You should also make sure you are familiar with the state laws and statutes regarding private investigator individuals and companies.
3) Application for Employment
You will need to submit the following to your employing private detective agency so they can complete your registration form and you can begin working:
- Fingerprints and consent for a background investigation
- Proof of your private detective certification classes, if completed (must be completed within 90 days of hire)
- Any weapons permits and certifications
- Associated registration fees (to be paid by school)
4) Continuing Education
Private investigators need to complete 16 hours of continuing education through an approved agency each year. The agency with which you are registered can assist you with this and you can also consult with professional associations.
Joining a professional organization such as the Georgia Association of Professional Private Investigators (GAPPI) or the Investigative and Security Professional Association of Georgia (ISPAG) is a good way to find support and advice from colleagues, expand your networking opportunities, and stay up-to-date on the latest developments in your field. Professional organizations can also offer you tips on the process of how to become a private detective in Georgia.
Did you know????
The National Investigative Training Academy, Inc. (NITA) now offers the Georgia Basic Training Course (70 Hours) through its website, www.InvestigativeAcademy.com.
In accordance with the Georgia Private Detective and Security Agencies Act, NITA is now a board-approved provider of investigative training in the state of Georgia. The school’s online program delivers a comprehensive investigative curriculum that provides a flexible and convenient way for working adults to achieve their investigative career goals.
Become a Georgia Private Investigator today! Topics include: surveillance, ethics, Georgia laws, interviewing techniques, sources of information, case managements, rules of evidence, types of investigations and report writing. (Board Approved License #CTLR001021)
For a complete list of NITA courses and to enroll online, please click here.