Texas Private Investigator
Texas Private Investigators are regulated by the Texas Department of Public Safety. For additional information about state regulations, procedures, and training requirements, click here.
In Texas, Private Investigators must be licensed under Investigators are licensed under Private Security Act, Chapter 1702 Texas Occupations Code and must meet one of the requirements below:
The Texas Private Investigator exam consists of 100 questions and takes roughly two hours to complete and is open book.
Licensed Investigators in Texas are required to take 8 hours of Continuing Education every two years if you're an agency owner. For individual licenses with more than 15 years of experience, you need 12 hours and for individual licenses with less that 15 years of experience, you need 18 hours of continuing education.
NITA holds a Texas School License #Y00191.